Nathan Fillion talks to Michelle his Latest Film, The Waitress, Drive, and Serenity!

Nathan Fillion talks about The Waitress, Drive, Firefly and more wth EclipseMagazine.com's Michelle Alexandria!Nathan Fillion is living a surreal life. The Canadian-born actor gained critical acclaim and a large cult of fans when he starred as Captain Malcolm Reynolds on the Joss Whedon TV series “Firefly” (2002), which rose like a phoenix from the ashes into a major motion picture. Now he has a new television show on Fox that’s getting critical acclaim, and he’s in Adrienne Shelly‘s last film, the Sundance darling The Waitress. I recently sat down with Nathan and we had a talk about Serenity, Drive, and of course Adirenne Shelly’s film legacy, The Waitress. This is part 1 of 4, tomorrow we’ll be talking with Producer Michael Roiff, in Part 3, we’ll speak with actress Cheryl Hines, and we’ll close with Jeremy Sisto.

 

EM

You seem to be pretty busy right now.

Nathan Fillion

I’ve been quite busy lately and have a full plate. [Gets distracted by the gadgets on the table] . Ooh, a recorder for an iPod, neat. [Ed Note, that’s my iPod] I’m a bit of a tech geek so I try to keep up with the latest gadgets and toys. Like things like Popular Mechanic.

 

EM

Is that how you were able to pilot the space ship?

NF

That and watching a lot of Star Wars.

EM

Can you talk a little about how this role came to you?

NF

I heard about the project and read the script I knew that Kerri Russell and Cheryl Hines were going to be involved and I’m a big fan of each of them. I had a meeting with Adrienne Shelly that almost didn’t work out. I had a trip planned to go to New York on the same day she was coming to LA. We ended up meeting in NY at of all places a diner.

EM

What was the experience like being on set?

NF

It was a piece of cake. We shot it for twenty days, Kerri Russell had to work the hardest because she was in every scene, but for me it was a piece of cake. I was only there for five days.

 

 

Nathan Fillian Talks to EclipseMagazine.com About The Waitress

 

 

EM

What was it that motivated your character to have an affair with Jenna (Russell), was it her or the pies?

NF

Obviously Jenna is guarded and has a wall built up around her. Inside she’s a wonderful caring person, but the only way she can express this through the outside world is through her amazing pies. When she’s in pain she just closes her eyes and invents a new pie people who eat those pies drawn to her. Dr. Pomatter is one of these people that can look at someone and see their worth.

EM

Do you see your character as a philanderer?

NF

Absolutely not. To me, I think he’s just looking to be happy and he sees that in Jenna. Is it the right decision? I think that’s ultimately what the movie is about. We can forgive Jenna because she’s obviously in an abusive and dangerous relationship, but Dr. Pomatter seems to have a good life and marriage.

EM

So you think Dr. Pomatter’s affections for Jenna went to a more deeper level?

NF

Certainly, she’s an attractive woman. But there is something within Jenna that attracts him.

EM

Can you talk a little about Drive?

NF

This is a lot of fun. Tim Minear who I worked with on Firefly called me up and said I have a great part for you. He has a nack for reveals and how to build moments. I was very excited to work with him again because I know his work and trust him.

EM

You’re pretty tight with Joss. Is there any talk on reviving or continuing Serenity, whether on TV, Comics, or another movie?

NF

There’s always talk; but not a lot of real movement on anything. And Joss and I rarely talk about. We had this amazing fantastic job and television show was cut short. All we wanted to do was get it back and we did that by having this amazing motion picture. I can’t think of a better way to do it. I got my second chance. How could I ask for more? I got what I wanted.

EM

Do you fear being on the Fox network? They are notorious for having a quick trigger finger when it comes to new shows.

NF

I can’t live in fear. I’ve been there, lived there. I go to work and try to breathe life into this character and do the best that I can. Once I’m done, I try not to think about things that I can’t control. I have the best job in the world.

EM

Is there a difference between how a woman directs from a man?

NF

No, my mom’s a woman and I take orders from women all the time.

EM

Was it surreal being in Sundance during the tragedy?

NF

My entire career has been surreal. I studied to be a teacher, so anything after that involving Hollywood has been surreal, kind of look at it as an observer, rather than a participant. I never thought I’d be at Sundance, let alone be in a movie at Sundance, or have to live through the experience getting picked and dealing this tragedy. I’m really happy Adrienne Shelly made this movie, I’m sad that she’s not here to see it.

EM

How was it working with Adrienne?

NF

I’ve noticed that there’s a definite difference between working with a Director or Writer/Director. Writer/Directors are more vest in their projects and have a clearer vision. She’s a little tiny girl with lots of energy, who was very positive and a pleasure to be around.

The Waitress Opens this Friday, May 4. This is part 1 of 4, tomorrow we’ll be talking with Producer

 

EM Feature Interview
by Michelle Alexandria
Originally Posted 4/29/07

 

 

Leave a Reply

